About University Departments of Rural Health

University Departments of Rural Health, also known as UDRHs, are academic centres based in rural and remote Australia focused on health education and research.

UDRHs perform a number of functions including:

  • Facilitating training placements in rural and remote health, aged care, disability and other community services for undergraduate and post-graduate health students.
  • Providing learning and study facilities for students, such as clinical labs, training rooms and libraries.
  • Providing accommodation and social support for students undertaking a rural or remote placement.
  • In partnership with local Indigenous communities, facilitating cultural awareness and safety training for all students on placement.
  • Providing mentoring support to Indigenous health students.
  • Supporting the Indigenous health workforce, including Indigenous health academics and researchers.
  • Supporting the continuing professional development of rural and remote health professionals.
  • Undertaking rural and remote health research in close partnership with local communities, health professionals and services.
  • Delivering end-to-end training in rural and remote locations for some undergraduate and postgraduate health courses.

University partners

There are 19 Australian universities delivering UDRH services at one or more locations across the country. Participating universities include:

  • Charles Darwin University
  • Charles Sturt University
  • Curtin University
  • Deakin University
  • Edith Cowan University
  • Flinders University
  • James Cook University
  • La Trobe University
  • Monash University
  • Murdoch University
  • University of Melbourne
  • University of Newcastle
  • University of Notre Dame
  • University of Queensland
  • University of South Australia
  • University of Southern Queensland
  • University of Sydney
  • University of Tasmania
  • University of Western Australia

Funding – UDRHs are funded by the Australian Government Department of Health through the Rural Health Multi-disciplinary Training Program.